To promote and advocate maximum Indian participation in the programs and services conducted by the Federal Government for Indians; and to encourage and support the development of tribal capacity to better manage the opportunities and responsibilities of self-determination.

Created by the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act of 1975 (ISDEAA), the Division of Indian Self-Determination (ISD) is charged with the responsibility to further American Indian tribes’ exercise of Self-Determination as a matter of policy. The Division also carries out the Delegation of Authority Initiative which allows for the delegation of authority for the administration and oversight of self-determination contracts and grants to the agency level.

The ISD carries out its responsibilities by providing training and technical assistance to BIA regional and agency employees, tribal officials and their staffs.

The ISD oversees the procedures for the delegation of authority for Self-Determination contracts and grants to the regional and agency levels of the BIA. This involves review of regional and agency Implementation Plans to ensure they have the capability to administer and oversee self-determination contract and grants. It also involves review and approval of qualifications of BIA employees applying for certification as awarding officials based on the Awarding Official Certification System Handbook (AOCS) and 13 IAM Chapters 2, 3 and 4.

For more information regarding training requirements, please see the related policy, 13 IAM 6: Mandatory Training, which is located on the Indian Affairs Manual webpage here: https://www.bia.gov/policy-forms/manual (scroll down to Part 13)

Training Documents & Videos

Click here to view the documents & videos

Additional Self-Determination Information

Excerpts From Indian Affairs Manual that pertain to ISD

Procedures Handbooks

Contract Support Cost

Contract Support Cost Reports

Self-Determination Regional Implementation Plans

Implementation Plan Review Schedules:

FY 2015 - Year 1:

  • Eastern Oklahoma Region
  • Eastern Region
  • Rocky Mountain Region
  • Alaska Region

FY 2016 - Year 2:

  • Northwest Region
  • Midwest Region
  • Navajo Region
  • Great Plains Region

FY 2017 - Year 3:

  • Pacific Region
  • Western Region
  • Southwest Region
  • Southern Plains Region

Memorandum of Understanding

Pub. L. 93-638 CAP: Suspensions/Debarment:



Visit our Contact Us page for mailing address and other contact information.