The Indian Energy and Minerals Steering Committee (IEMSC) is comprised of senior level management representatives from bureaus and offices within the Department of the Interior with direct responsibility for managing Indian energy, mineral and renewable energy resources, and revenue management. The IEMSC participating bureaus and offices include:

  • Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA)
  • Bureau of Land Management (BLM)
  • Bureau of Trust Funds Administration (BTFA)
  • Office of Natural Resources Revenue (ONRR)
  • Appraisal and Valuation Services Office – Division of Mineral Evaluation (AVSO-DME)

The IEMSC may also invite and coordinate with federal officials from agencies outside of DOI as needed to address energy and mineral issues on Indian lands.

The IEMSC’s function is to share information and solve issues involving conventional and renewable energy resources, mineral resources, and associated revenue management on Indian lands at the lowest level possible. The IEMSC also addresses raises issues that cannot be resolved or that would require policy changes that are brought to the attention of the appropriate DOI officials. The IEMSC charter provides for committee members to be appointed by directors of the participating agencies listed above, and by the offices of the Assistant Secretary of Indian Affairs (AS-IA); the Assistant Secretary of Policy, Management, and Budget; and the Assistant Secretary of Land and Minerals Management.

The Indian Energy Service Center (IESC) is designated as the Chair responsible for updating and maintaining the charter; setting up meetings; preparing agendas; keeping action items and meeting minutes from each meeting; preparing the point-of-contact lists; calling additional meetings or conference calls as requested based on consensus from the IEMSC membership; and any other functions related to the coordination of meetings that occur twice a year.

Contact Us

Indian Energy Service Center
13922 Denver West Parkway, Building 54, Suite 300
Lakewood, CO 80401
9:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m. MDT, Monday–Friday