Media Contact: Tom Beaver (202) 343-6031
For Immediate Release: September 30, 1980

Deputy Assistant Secretary for Indian Affairs, Thomas W. Fredericks today said he was pleased to accept the Overall Plan of Operation for the Osage Tribal Education Committee of Oklahoma

To date, the committee has approved 209 applications for grants totaling $61,900. Fredericks said scholarships for the 1980-81 school year are expected to exceed the 1980 total and will help more than 300 Osage students to meet the cost of higher education.

The Osage Tribal Education Committee was established by regulations issued in the Federal Register on August 22, 1978 and is charged with the responsibility for managing the use of interest accumulated from the investment of $1 million authorized for education and other socio-economic programs for the benefit of the Osage Tribe by the Act of October 27, 1972.

The Education Committee is comprised of five Osage Tribal members and two BIA representatives. The Committee has the authority to provide funding for scholarships and economic development grants to Osage tribal members. The approved plan spells out details of membership, duties, officers, powers, authorities and responsibilities of the seven-member committee.

Eligibility for the scholarship program is limited to Osage students enrolled in an accredited post-secondary education program including college/ university programs and vocational/technical programs. The deadline for applying for a scholarship is July 1 of each academic year. Information concerning the scholarships can be obtained by writing to:

Osage Tribal Education Committee

C/o Muskogee Area Education Program Administrator

Old Federal Building, Room 301

Muskogee, Oklahoma 74401

For more information on the education committee, contact Leroy Falling, Chief of the Division of Post-Secondary Education, Office of Indian Education Programs, Bureau of Indian Affairs, Washington, D.C. 20240, (202) 343-7387.