Media Contact: Bob Walker (0) 202/208-3171 (H) 703/938-6842
For Immediate Release: August 4, 1992

Secretary of the Interior Manuel Lujan today announced the appointment of Dr. Jonathan Haas as the seventh member of the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Review Committee. Haas is Vice President for Collections and Research at the Field Museum of Natural History in Chicago. He joins Rachel Craig, Dan Monroe, Tessie Naranjo, Dr. Martin Sullivan, William Tallbull and Dr. Philip Walker as members of the committee. Lujan selected Haas from a list of nominees developed by members of the committee at their first meeting April 29-May 1 1992, in Washington, D.C

The committee was authorized by Congress to monitor, review and assist in the implementation of certain requirements of the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act of 1990. It will advise the Secretary of the Interior on regulations needed for implementing the law and other matters, including resolution of disputes caused by the requirements of the statute.