Media Contact: Davis - Int. 2773 | Information Service
For Immediate Release: July 2, 1959

The Indian Arts and Crafts Board of the Department of the Interior announced today the second set of four awards which are made annually “in recognition of long and outstanding services in the preservation, encouragement and development of the arts and crafts of the American Indians."

These awards, consisting of certificates of appreciation, were presented yesterday in Flagstaff, Arizona. Recipients, and the categories for which they won, include:

1. The Museum of Northern Arizona, of Flagstaff, Arizona--Nonprofit organizations.

2. Mr. Henry Claiborne Lockett, Tucson, Arizona--Dealers in arts and crafts.

3. Mr. Fred Kabotie, Oraibi, Arizona--Indian craftsmen.

4. Mrs. Mary Russell-Ferrell Colton, Flagstaff, Arizona--Collectors or patrons of Indian arts and crafts.

Dr. Frederick J. Dockstader, a member of the Board, made the presentation of awards this year. The basis for selection of winners is the long-standing services over and above the normal activities of the recipients in each classification.

The Chairman of the Indian Arts and Crafts Board is Rene d'Harnoncourt, Director of the Museum of Modern Art, New York City. Board members serve without compensation, under appointment by the Secretary of the Interior.

Other members are Vincent Price, actor and Indian art collector, Los Angeles, California, and Erich Kohlberg, dealer in Indian crafts, Denver, Colorado.