

<u>Chickahominy Tribe</u>

8200 Lott Cary Road, Providence Forge, Virginia 23140 Ph: (804) 829-2027 Fax: (804) 829-2222

Tribal Council

Stephen Adkins, Chief

Chief

Wayne Adkins 1st Asst. Chief

Reggie Stewart 2nd Asst. Chief

Martha Adkins Secretary

Rhonda Canaday, Treasurer

Adam Adkins

Camille Adkins

Heath Adkins

Troy L. Adkins

Ross Stewart

Donovan Wynn

March 31, 2021

Via Email to consultation@bia.gov

Elizabeth Appel Director Office of Regulatory Affairs & Collaborative Action Bureau of Indian Affairs United States Department of Interior Washington, DC 20240

RE: Comments on Federal Acknowledgement Re-Petitioning

Dear Director Appel:

I am writing on behalf of the Chickahominy Indian Tribe (CIT) in response to your "Dear Tribal Leader Letter" dated December 18, 2020 inviting comment on the Interior Department's Consideration of whether to amend its regulations, at 25 C.F.R. Part 83, to permit re-petitioning to take advantage of the 2015 reforms to the federal acknowledgment process.

We agree with the two federal court rulings determining that the Department's explanation for its decision to ban re-petitioning was insufficient under the Administrative Procedures Act. Groups seeking acknowledgement under the regulations at 25 C.F.R. Part 83 which were denied prior to the 2015 revisions, should not be barred from re-petitioning under the revised rules. Therefore, petitioning groups denied based on determinations inconsistent with the 2015 revised regulations, should be permitted to re-petition the Department for acknowledgement as an Indian tribe.

Please consider the information contained herein, the official response of the CIT. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact Stephen R. Adkins, the undersigned, or you may also contact Earl Evans of Cultural Heritage Partners, PLLC at (252) 567-8918, or <u>earl@culturalheritagepartners.com</u>

Sincerely,

Stephen R. Adkins (804) 240-2214

cc: Cultural Heritage Partners, PLLC The Honorable Tim Kaine, United States Senator The Honorable Mark Warner, United States Senator