

Media Contact: Office of the Secretary **For Immediate Release:** December 4, 1975

Print PDF

The Department of the Interior today announced the election of five incorporators of the thirteenth region established for the benefit of Alaska Natives who are not permanent residents of Alaska and who elected to be enrolled in such a region under the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act.

The incorporators were elected in a mail ballot of adult thirteenth region enrollees. The enrollees voted on a list of 24 nominees submitted to the Department by organizations representing non-resident Alaska Natives.

Under an order issued by U.S. District Judge Oliver Gasch October 6, 1975, the five nominees receiving the highest number of votes are recognized as incorporators of the thirteenth region for the purpose of preparing and submitting the proposed articles of incorporation and bylaws for the region. They will also constitute the initial board of directors of the corporation to serve until the first meeting of shareholders or until their successors are elected and qualify. They are not eligible to succeed themselves.

Under Judge Gasch's order, the proposed articles of incorporation and bylaws are to be approved by January 1, 1976; the first meeting of the shareholders and election of the board of directors of the corporation is to be held by February 1, 1976; and by February 15, 1976, the corporation is to be paid its share of the monies in the Alaska Native Fund.

At or about the time the regional corporation makes its first distribution to its shareholders, all adult non-resident Native enrollees, whether or not presently enrolled in the thirteenth region, will be given a final opportunity to elect their preference for enrollment in that region or in another region in Alaska.

The election of the incorporators was certified by the Department on the basis of a tabulation of the 1,251 valid ballots cast by the 3,100 adult thirteenth region enrollees. The election was conducted by the Opinion Research Corp. of Princeton, New Jersey, under a Department contract. The incorporators certified as elected are: Sheila Aga, P.O. Box 1378, Myrtle Creek, Oregon 97457; Axel Anaruk, 30153 - 12th Ave., S.E., Federal Way, Washington 98002; William Jackson, 20328 Marine Dr., Stanwood, Washington 98212; Sam Walkoff, 8545 Delaware St., Highland, Indiana 46332; James S. Williams, 7120 Greenly Dr., Oakland, California 94605.

https://www.bia.gov/as-ia/opa/online-press-release/incorporators-elected-thirteenth-region-alaska-native s