Indian Affairs | Division of Law Enforcement

Division of Law Enforcement

The Division of Operations consists of 9 regional Districts with 208 law enforcement programs. Of those, 43 are operated by the Office of Justice Services. The remainder is operated by the tribal nations themselves per Self-Determination contracts or Self-Government compacts with limited oversight by the Districts.

The Division of Operations is comprised of uniform police, criminal investigations, corrections and telecommunications.

District offices are located in Aberdeen, South Dakota (District I); Muskogee, Oklahoma (District II); Phoenix, Arizona (District III); Albuquerque, New Mexico (District IV); Billings, Montana (District V); Nashville, Tennessee (District VI); Minneapolis, Minnesota (District VII); Portland, Oregon (District VIII) and Sacramento, California (District IX).