Indian Affairs | Tribal Grant Program
Country

Tribal Grant Program to Assess, Evaluate and Promote Development of Tribal Energy and Mineral Resources

             2017 EMDP Information Solicitation Coming Soon!

Each year, the Division of Energy and Mineral Development (DEMD) provides tribes an opportunity to participate in a grant program known as the Energy and Mineral Development Program (EMDP). This program provides financial assistance to federally recognized tribes and Indian allottees on trust lands to evaluate their energy (conventional and renewable), and mineral resource potential on their lands.

In turn, this provides tribes and allottees with the information they need to promote their lands, negotiate the best agreements with partners or investors, and develop their energy resources.

DEMD solicits proposals from federally recognized tribes annually, subject to congressional appropriations. Using a competitive review system, DEMD selects qualified projects for grant funding. DEMD staff provides technical assistance while monitoring the energy projects to ensure the best possible product is obtained for the limited funds allocated.

EMDP projects may include activities, such as:

  • performing initial exploration;
  • defining potential targets for development;
  • performing market analyses to establish production/demand for a given commodity;
  • provide outreach and education to tribes concerning energy or mineral development issues;
  • perform economic evaluation and analyses of the resource; and
  • promote completed projects at industry conferences and to prospective partners or investors.  

Resources Eligible for Funding:


Resources and Links

EMDP Quarterly Reporting Instructions

View the EMDP Guidance for Small Scale Biomass

Click here to view the EMDP informational brochure

MANDATORY COMPONENTS: 

Energy and Mineral Development Proposals (EMDP) must include four (4) mandatory components as follows: 

  1. A current tribal resolution authorizing the proposed project
  2. A proposal describing the planned activities and deliverable products
  3. A detailed budget estimate, and

To view a sample EMDP mineral assessment proposal please click the link below:

Sample EMDP Mineral Proposal

Frequently Asked Questions:

FAQ - Awarded EMDP Projects    

Submissions

 

Send tribal resolutions and completed proposals electronically in one file, to:

Ms. Amy Wilson, Attn: Energy and Mineral Development Program at IEEDGrants@bia.gov

 

For Further Information Contact: 

If you have questions about the EMDP program or submission process, please contact:

Amy Wilson, Direct Phone: (720) 407-0623, Cell Phone (720) 692-7508; e-mail: amy.wilson@bia.gov

For technical questions about the commodity you wish to assess or develop, please contact the appropriate DEMD staff member listed below:    

DEMD Branch Chief

Stephen Manydeeds, (720) 407-0600; e-mail: stephen.manydeeds@bia.gov

Mineral Projects (precious metals, sand and gravel) 

Dennis Bodenchuk, (720) 407-0603; e-mail: dennis.bodenchuk@bia.gov

Duane Matt, (720) 407-0605; email: duane.matt@bia.gov

Conventional Energy Projects (oil, natural gas, coal) 

Robert Anderson, (720) 407-0602; e-mail: robert.anderson@bia.gov    

Renewable Energy Projects (biomass, wind, solar, hydroelectric) 

Michael Stevenson, (720) 407-0626; e-mail: michael.stevenson@bia.gov       

Geothermal Energy 

Roger Knight, (720) 407-0613; e-mail: roger.knight@bia.gov